Texas Border Health | Texas DSHS

The Texas Portion of the U.S. – México Border

The U.S. – México border is the area 100 kilometers or 62.5 miles, north and south of the international boundary. This area was defined by the La Paz Agreement La Paz Agreement (epa.gov) in 1983. The Texas border makes up about half of the U.S. – Mexico border, stretching 1,254 miles from the Gulf of México to El Paso.

Four Mexican states share borders with the state of Texas. In order from the southeast coast to the northwest desert:

  1. Tamaulipas
  2. New Lion
  3. Coahuila
  4. Chihuahua

The Texan border includes two federally recognized tribal nations, creating tri-national regions:

  1. Kickapoo Traditional Tribe of Texas near Eagle Pass
  2. Ysleta del Sur Town in El Paso

Some binational sister-city communities along the Texas border are:

  • Brownsville and Matamoros
  • McAllen and Reynosa
  • Rio Grande City and cities Michael German and Camargo
  • Laredo and Nuevo Laredo
  • Eagle Pass and Piedras Negras
  • Del Rio and Ciudad Acuna
  • Presidio and Ojinaga
  • El Paso and Ciudad Juarez

"A map displays sister cities and their population along the Texas-Mexico Border"

Source link

Related posts

Leave a Comment